Too early

It started on a NATO military installation with you wanting to learn English and me Italian.  An unlikely pair – you serving your 10-month obligation in the Italian military while I was the career soldier.  Did anyone know that brief encounter would last nearly 40 years or we would refer to the other as “my brother”.

Home for both of us was here or there for we are one family.  I have always enjoyed returning to this vineyard in Italy.  Not for the food or the wine, it is a place of peace, tranquility and friendship for the past 40 years.

La Maddalena

You are the younger, inexperienced man, with no exposure to the ravages of war or its cancers yet it is you, my younger brother,  who’s health is failing.  I am the one who had cancer, not you.  You are too young to have lost your eyesight, no longer able to lovingly tend your vineyards, olive trees and orchards.  I have no such responsibilities yet I can see and without hesitation would give you my eyes.
This trip comes too soon.  I am not ready and I don’t want to go.  Even though they didn’t ask the phone call said it all.
There will not be another “a piu tardi grande amico mio”.
About livedinitaly

Love food and traveling. Breaking out of this introvert shell by expressing my thoughts, experiences and feelings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Too early

  1. Leslie Meeks says:

    I am sorry to hear about your friend and I am wishing you safe travels. You are an amazing man George. He is looking to have you for such a great and wonderful friend.

  2. chattykerry says:

    What a lovely post about your friend. He is lucky to have you for a friend and I wish him well.

  3. Mia Beleza says:

    Wishing you the best in your travels. I wish your friend well and be safe. You are one of the best people I know George.

  4. Rita says:

    Oh, G. My heart goes with you and my prayers for your brother.

  5. Davinia Baldwin says:

    Oh sweetheart – how so very difficult for you and your brother. Safe travels. Good wishes and prayers for you and yours

  6. Your care is so poetically expressed.

Leave a Reply

