Charming Italian Words that I Love

How could one NOT fall in amore with the Italian language? È bellissima!

Italophilia

Over the course of few months, I have read many beautiful Italian words. But some have stayed with me more than the others. What I love most about these words is how lovely they are and how musical they sound when I speak them. Stupefacente!

Here are a few of my favorites (so far) along with their meanings:

allora: It is one of my favorite words but it is difficult to explain its meaning. It means “well”, “so” or “then”. Love the way Italians use it ever so often in every sentence.

arancione: this means the color orange. Love the way when I speak it 😉

prego: The all purpose word which means “welcome”, “come in”, “after you” “not at all”

abbiocco: isn’t this word so beautiful? It means the the drowsiness after eating a big meal.

PhotoGrid_1456369280366

menefreghismo: Ha! This…

View original post 93 more words

About livedinitaly

Love food and traveling. Breaking out of this introvert shell by expressing my thoughts, experiences and feelings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Charming Italian Words that I Love

  1. chattykerry says:

    I love prego, especially when pronounced properly.

Leave a Reply

