Social media vs. Life (and social media lost)

I had “A New Year, a new start and hard choices” ready for the title.

I am back home from visiting our extended family last weekend. This trip was different as I had time to reflect on what last year was like compared to my expectations and needless to say I was nowhere close to what I wanted to achieve.

It seems that this thing called Social Media has taken over a good part of my daily life. Where I would read a few books each month I am down to just one completed last years and half a dozen started.

Yes I have met a wonderful group of people online and cherish the growing relationships, yet I find I am missing those activates I was doing prior to social media slowly creeping in. As such I am leaving and I will be closing this account in a few days.

Thank you everyone for the joy, laughs and tears you shared with me. I can not say if I will return or when and I do have your info saved.

About livedinitaly

Love food and traveling. Breaking out of this introvert shell by expressing my thoughts, experiences and feelings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Social media vs. Life (and social media lost)

  1. Leslie Meeks says:

    It is hard for me to press the like button. The second worst thing I have read today. Today is just not my day. With that being said, you have become one of my best friends and you will be very much missed my friend. Social media is not everything and I understand where you are coming from. You must do what you need to do. Thank you George for being the man that you are. A man with the most kindest generous heart of anyone I have ever known. I am proud to know you. I am proud to call you friend. Thank you for everything. I will miss you. ~hugs~

  2. I will like this only because I support you. Selfishly, I hate everything about this. But, I want nothing but happiness and the absolute best for you. Wherever you go and whatever you do, who ever gets access to your great love and abundant kindness, will benefit immensely. God speed, safe travels and much love. πŸ’‹

    • livedinitaly says:

      This touched me and brought tears to my eyes. Thank you for such a kind and heartfelt expression.

      • I have had you on my mind. I’m feeling very selfish. I want to scream DON’T GO! STAY! JUST POST OR COMMENT OCCASIONALLY! BUT DON’T LEAVE! I know this must be very difficult, but if you wanted to keep your blog open, and just inactive, at least I would know there was a possibility of hearing from you again, and that Sir, would mean everything. ❀️

  3. Rita says:

    Oh my friend, I understand completely the need to reset the priority button. You have my email and if you just need a laugh or a kick to keep moving – give me a holler.

    I adore ya, my friend. Be well and know you are truly loved by a lot of folks.

    • livedinitaly says:

      My dear sister I never knew, your anima has reached deep into my soul awakening long forgotten memories. Don’t let anyone drown your fire or wild spirit.

      • Rita says:

        You are making me cry, my friend. I hate to cry. I don’t want to have to find you and kick you in the shins. Please don’t leave us forevere – just take a break.

  4. You will be missed and thought of fondly, my friend πŸƒπŸŒΊπŸ’•

  5. I can’t say that I “like” this post but I understand completely. You must do what is best for you George. I will miss you my friend. Look after yourself and enjoy life…xo

  6. Joy says:

    I so understand how you are feeling. Life is worth living outside not behind a computer. Go live it!

    Thank you for always being so nice to me. Your emails are always a wonderful surprise to my day and always seem to come when I need a smile. I do hope we stay in touch.
    Hugs
    Joy

  7. Mia Beleza says:

    My dear friend, dad to read this but I understand. I also find myself pulling away from social media so I understand. I am so happy to have had honor of your friendship. You are a wonderful person. You do know how to find me if you need me or just want to chat. Take care of yourself. Hugs and kisses xxx

Leave a Reply

