Friend to fool, Promise/bond broken

When does one go from being a friend to a fool?  When should a promise “to always be there for you” be broken?  When does one’s bond (word) need no longer be considered sacrosanct?

We have known each other for nearly two years.  You’ve asked me to remain as a friend for I support your decisions on this new path you have chosen and I provide an outlet when you are low or troubled yet in the past six months our conversations have grown less frequent to where I hear from you only in response to my communications.

Do you still see me as a friend?  Do I still provide that comfort and support you eagerly welcomed what seems so long ago?  Or am I a fool to remain because I gave you my word I would always be here for you, and my word, my bond, represents who I am.

About livedinitaly

Love food and traveling. Breaking out of this introvert shell by expressing my thoughts, experiences and feelings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Friend to fool, Promise/bond broken

  1. Leslie Meeks says:

    I could never see you as being a fool… you have the kindest heart of anyone I know. The comfort you provide I’m sure is much supported. I’m sure your bond with your friend will always remain. She/he may be having a hard time right now. I’m sure it’s nothing personal. Give them time and hang in there.

  2. Felicity says:

    This is something I’ve been confronted with many times. I still don’t have the answer 🙂

    Look after you. If it’s good for your soul to remain a friend, there is nothing foolish in that. But if it’s breaking you, and you’ve exhausted the conversations, put yourself at the top of the list and move on with a clear conscience.

  3. Difficult. All of us have experienced this at one time or another. Enjoyed reading your post. Thanks for sharing it.I know it couldn’t be easy to write.

Leave a Reply

